magerata

Google Sends Sinhalese Googlers To Africa! And Tamil Googlers To Ireland!

In magerata on September 30, 2010 at 10:03 am

"Sinhalese Google"

I was looking for Sinhalese Google home page and like good old Googler, I typed “Sinhalese Google” in my search bar and hit enter.  The results was bit funny as the characters it showed on the link para was nothing like Shihalese.

Google was sending me to a country in Africa, when I checked what “ti” in the “www.google.com/intl/ti/” was, I was sent to Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Tigray where they speak Tigrinya ( ትግርኛ, tigriññā), with language code “ISO 639-1”  ti Clearly not Sinhalese. I submitted a report with Google.

Tamil Google did not fare well either. I was sent to Irish Google Page.

Correctly it should have been “www.google.com/intl/si/” for Sinhalese and “www.google.com/intl/ta/” for Tamil Google page.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mage Rata, Mage Rata. Mage Rata said: Google Sends Sinhalese Googlers To Africa! And Tamil Googlers To Ireland! http://nblo.gs/8vPKi […]

  2. haha, that’s certainly interesting. the google.lk search gives the Sinhala transliteration thing as the first result. 🙂

Comments are closed.

