magerata

Vajira Chitrasena, The grand dame of dance, Interviewed By GroundViews

In magerata, magerata video, studies on October 22, 2010 at 12:40 pm

I watch, listen to many a interviews on Groundviews. I get my weekly dose of internal information that I am unable to get from anywhere else from those authors of Groundviews. That does not mean that I agree with the views of groundviews authors all the time. In fact, most of the time my comments are from the oposite side of the table. I always try to be civil, when I express my views, which may not be grounded very well, due to the simple fact, I am very far away from the grounds of Sri Lanka.

I am truly thankful to Groundviews for providing a platform for people to air their views. In fact Sri Lanka needs a place like it because we Sri Lankans tend to think it is my way or highway, when we are fixated on an idea, specially online. Over the years, I have seen the receding waves of filth and bad language from the comments, not only at Groundviews but Lankan blogsphere as a whole. But what ever the our alliances are, it is good place for dialog. I firmly believe, dialog among people can solve many of the problems.

The main reason I am writing about Groundviews today is because of entirely another reason. I came across a fine interview done by Groundviews. A long due interview, too bad it is not on video, yet it is a fine one.  The Deshabandu Vajira Chitrasena was interviewed. (I had to get help of a few people to find out what Deshabandu means and now I understand what it is, I think it is very befitting her.) If you are at least tiny bit interested in Magerata and a woman who devoted 60 of 78 years of her life, for dancing and promoting the craft she matured, let the interview play in the background while you surf. It is worth the time.

Sanjana has done a fine job of recording just about half an hour appropriately  recorded at the Chitrasena and Vajira Dance School (The Chitrasena Kalayathanaya);

Vajira looks back at her life and recalls how she began to dance, what dance means to her, what’s changed from when the time she was an active dancer, her legacy alongside that of Chitrasena’s, what and who inspired her, the changes she brought about to traditional Kandyan dancing and the future of the Dance School in the hands of her children and grand-children.

Vajira Chitrasena, who had danced when Sri Lanka gained independence from the British and her presence in the field easily felt even today through her work and the Chitrasena Kalayathanaya. At the prime age of 78 years old, I some time wish to see her dance one more time. But I guess I have to settle to work of her grand children, which is fine because all of them are “Dancing For The Gods!” (ignore my uneducated comment if you read the article 🙂 )
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mage Rata, Mage Rata. Mage Rata said: Vajira Chitrasena, The grand dame of dance, Interviewed By GroundViews http://nblo.gs/9umNW […]

Comments are closed.

